IPEd National Editors Conference

The 10th IPEd National Editors Conference will be held in Hobart, Tasmania from Monday 28Wednesday 30 June 2021.

IPEd Strategic Plan

IPEd Strategic Plan July 2017 to June 2020.

Branch Events

The branches of IPEd host workshops, seminars, member meetings and other events that are open to all IPEd members. Information and booking details for these are listed on the Events page of this website.

Rosie Shortlist Announced

Posted on: 24 April 2019

The Institute of Professional Editors (IPEd) is pleased to announce the shortlist for the Rosanne Fitzgibbon Editorial Award – a national IPEd award for editorial excellence.

The award, known as the Rosie, was launched in 2017, and the 2019 winner will be announced at the Gala Dinner of the 9th IPEd National Editors Conference in Melbourne, Thursday 9 May 2019.

The shortlisted editors are Julia Carlomagno (Adult Fantasy), Patrick Mangan (No Spin) and Julia Carlomagno (No Way But This).

Eight published works were submitted for the 2019 Rosanne Fitzgibbon Award. All editors demonstrated a commitment and dedication to their craft. The following three shortlisted collaborations displayed an outstanding editorial capability in supporting the writer to create the best publishing outcomes.

Julia Carlomagno cleverly saw an opportunity to develop Briohny Doyle’s essay Marriage into a narrative nonfiction book. Adult Fantasy (Scribe) is the critically acclaimed result. Carlomagno developed a close and respectful rapport with Doyle, fostering the author’s ability to write in a new genre.

Patrick Mangan managed a difficult editorial project with the Shane Warne autobiography No Spin (Penguin Random House). Mangan built up a high level of trust with UK-based author Mark Nicholas and globe-trotting subject Shane Warne, coordinating legal and logistical issues, and employing unique editorial skills and diplomacy.

Julia Carlomagno assisted Jeff Sparrow to create an inspirational portrait from an academic text about Paul Robson in No Way But This (Scribe). She developed a close and respectful relationship with Sparrow, supporting him through the publishing process with her sensitive interventions into structure, voice and content, providing research and fact-checking. The result is a compelling narrative that is part biography, part travelogue and part political history.

The Rosie honours the editorial contribution of Rosanne Fitzgibbon (1947–2012), whose professional life was spent chiefly at University of Queensland Press, editing fiction titles. She was herself the inaugural winner of the Beatrice Davis Editorial Fellowship in 1992, which took her to publishing houses in New York, subsequently benefiting every author she worked with. Rosie was known and loved for her passionate commitment to her authors, often over several titles.

The Rosie rewards editorial excellence with a cash prize of $4000 and is based on both the quality of the finished work and contributions from editor, author and publisher about the process. The Rosie is awarded every two years, at the IPEd conference.

Find an editor

IPEd has established the Editors Directory. Clients can search the directory for freelance editors using specific criteria. These will identify editors that have specific interests, skills or experience in certain areas.